Come! Rome with me

The traveller sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see. – Gilbert K. Chesterton  

While sorting hundreds of photos from my recent 2 month trip to Central America, it made me nostalgic for all the other trips I have taken in the last couple of years. Paris, Barcelona, New York, San Francisco….places I had dreamed of visiting, and had made a reality. One of the most memorable places I have been in recent times has been Rome. I had always wanted to visit this large and romantic sprawling city, walk her alleyways, get lost among historical ruins, delicious smells emanating from tiny, hole-in-the-wall cafes, and visions of Italian men flashing smiles as they whiz by on scooters. There is so much inspiration to be found in the crumbling Roman buildings, the bursts of colour at every turn, letting your own two feet lead you on an adventure.

So, on this beautiful twilit Sydney evening, whilst sitting in the back garden, I am taking a little trip down memory lane. I hope you enjoy the sights as much as I did, and may it inspire a little bit of Rome wherever you may find yourself.

Il Palatino

Il Palatino

Flowers climbing on a wall..creeping upwards, their fragrance filling up the garden with their sweetness.

iphone photos 2871

These pretty bubble-gum pink flowers, which I imagined myself wearing in my hair

Sitting in the beautiful warm sunny gardens of the Palatino, which became one of my favourite places to relax and watch life go by.

Sitting in the beautiful warm sunny gardens of the Palatino, which became one of my favourite places to relax and watch life go by.

iphone photos 2862

Jewel colours at the Casa di Augusto

iphone photos 2876

Follow the rocky Roman road, wherever it may lead you.

iphone photos 2873

Green is the prime colour of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises. -Pedro Calderon de la Barca

iphone photos 2879

Il Foro. I got ‘lost’ wandering the ancient ruins of the old Roman Forum, seeming to rise in the last afternoon sun.

iphone photos 2902

The beautiful, crumbling Colosseum

I loved this beautiful piazza. Full of people laughing, photographing each other, these lions were the centre piece.

I loved this beautiful piazza. Full of people laughing, photographing each other, these lions were the centre piece.

iphone photos 2935

I ‘accidently’ stumbled across the Trevi Fountain while on a mission to find it, having got lost numerous times, misreading my map and taking many wrong turns. But suddenlythere it was in all its glory – and of course I tossed a coin into the water and made a wish!

Castel Sant’Angelo and the river Tevere.

2 thoughts on “Come! Rome with me

Leave a Reply

